Sex Registration (PC290) Modification
Changes in California Sex Offender Registration
Beginning in 2021, California will replace lifetime sex offender registration with a tiered registration system. Depending on the conviction for which a person was required to register, registrants will be placed into one of three different tiers. Each requires a different length of registration (“Minimum Registration Period” or MRP) – these indicate the minimum amount of time you must be registered in order to petition for relief.
MRPs for Adult Convictions
- Tier 1: 10 years
- Tier 2: 20 years
- Tier 3: lifetime registration
MRPs for Juvenile Cases
- Tier 1: 5 years
- Tier 2: 10 years
- Tier 3: generally does not apply to juvenile offenders
Those eligible for PC290 registration relief include those who have registered for the MRP within their tier, are not in custody, are not on parole (or probation, mandatory supervision, or post-release community supervision), are currently registered, and do not have pending charges which could extend the MRP or change your tier status.
If you have met the requirements for registration relief and have met the minimum registration period for your tier, you may petition the court for permission to stop registering as a sex offender beginning on or after your next birthday after July 1, 2021.
The Law Office of Ronald G. Brower is prepared to defend your rights and assist you in acquiring relief from sex offender registration. If you are granted PC290 relief, you will no longer be required to register as a sex offender within the state of California. Additionally, if the information about you is published online (at the Megan’s Law website), it will be removed. To receive qualified defense, contact us today.