DUI charges in Orange County, California, can turn your life upside down. Whether you were accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the repercussions can be severe. This is especially true if this is not your first offense. Find out who can help you with your current charges.
A DUI is given to people caught driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs. Subsequent charges are taken especially seriously in California and can lead to strict court punishments.
Punishments for Violating DUI Laws
The court may impose various punishments upon you for violating Orange County DUI laws. These punishments can range from jail time to fines to loss of your driving license.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is crucial to retain proper representation before your court date. An experienced defense attorney can help shine the best light on your case.
California’s Three Strikes Law
California’s Three Strikes Law typically targets felonies. Although sometimes a DUI will register as a strike, these offenses are usually tried as misdemeanors, although even first offenses can qualify as felonies. Usually, felony DUIs are those resulting in serious injuries, but sometimes a “normal” incident can be charged as a felony and trigger the Three Strikes Law.
You will face a felony DUI under certain situations, including if:
- You have received four DUIs in a 10-year period.
- You have a prior felony DUI.
- You had a minor in the car during your arrest.
If your current felony charge is your third strike, it could result in a sentence of 25 years to life in prison.
Contact a qualified defense attorney if you are worried about your charge triggering California’s Three Strikes Law.
The Effects of Repeat DUIs
If this is not your first charge, you should know that recurring DUIs come with increasingly severe penalties. If you have four DUIs in 10 years, the fourth registers as a felony. Each charge will include increased jail time and license suspensions. A skilled attorney may be able to help you reduce your consequences.
DUI Jail Time
DUI jail time can range from a few days to several years if it results in a felony charge. An experienced defense attorney can sometimes argue the right defense to reduce your jail time or even have your charges dropped.
Whether this is your first or fourth offense, investing in a qualified Orange County defense attorney is a wise move to protect your future.
There are several defenses your attorney may use to reduce your consequences. Choosing the correct defense is critical. Defenses may include the following:
- The officer demonstrated misconduct at some point in your case.
- You were not driving the vehicle.
- You exhibited no signs of mental impairment.
Your lawyer may use these and other defenses to have your DUI charges dropped or reduced.
Hire a DUI Defense Attorney
A DUI charge is nothing to shrug off. Even a first offense can have serious implications later in your life. If you have been charged with a DUI in Orange County, California, you should seek quality legal representation from an experienced defense attorney.
Ronald G. Brower has been a leader in Southern California criminal law for 45 years since opening his Orange County practice in the 1970s. With more than 300 jury trials and thousands of cases under his belt, he understands DUI law. Contact Ronald G. Brower, attorney at law, today.